Review: My Blood Approves

My Blood Approves

By: Amanda Hocking

Rating:

GoodReads Description:

Teenager Alice Bonham’s life feels crazy after she meets Jack. With his fondness for pink Chuck Taylors and New Wave, he’s unlike anyone she knows. Then she meets his brother, Peter. Even though he can’t stand the sight of her, she’s drawn to him. Falling for two guys isn’t even the worst of her problems. Jack and Peter are vampires, and Alice finds herself caught between love and her own blood

Review:

I’m going to go ahead and get this out of the way first, I felt a lot of twilight in this book. No, i didn’t go and so my research to find out if this book or twilight was released first, but I’m read so many thing that were similar. The Vampire, the vampire’s family of other vampires, the girl who’ll do anything for this vampire without knowing why. From the first chapter I couldn’t shake the feeling, but I kept reading. Thankfully I did, because the story, although more than halfway through, finally started to turn around and I felt the originality of the story start to blossom.

Alice, the main character in this book, is a teenage girl obviously unhappy in her surroundings. She kind of has that personality like she is always and forever going to be unlucky. She has the worst best friend one could have, and luckily, her best friend is sort of weened out of the book as every chapter goes by. Her brother Milo, who is two years younger, is really a sweet kid and im rooting for him throughout the whole book. The relationship she has with her brother felt real to me. Her character development was on point. I’ll go into the next book knowing exactly whats going on. In the first chapter, Alice is in a dangerous situation when out of the dark of night, Jack, rescues her. Immediatly, they are connected and there is no turning back. She, right away gives him trust he hasnt earned. Goes out with him again the next night, even after finding out that hes 7 years older than her. I didnt like that this age thing isnt really explained until the very end and why the gap was so big.

During her adventures with Jack, she meets his family, and all of a sudden moves out of her mothers house b/c her Mom is mad that she came home at 7AM on a school night (day).  She also meets Jacks brother who hates her guts, but leads her on. You know what? the more I write this review, I realize that Im not so sure I liked it as much as I thought.

Nahhhh! Im a sucker for Vampire books and this one, although it wont be for everyone, Kept my attention and is going into my guilty pleasures bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

