Movie Vs. Book- The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

Directed By: Gary Ross

Movie Length: 2 Hours 24 Mins

I am super impressed with this movie! I really anticipated it and was very happy that flixter certified it fresh at 87% just three days after its release.  Im not going to get into detail about what this movie is about because you can read my review on the book HERE. I give deets about what the book is about there. The movie stuck very closely to the book. I could literally tell what was about to happen next. I didn’t mind that, because what was even better, was the fact that the director left out unnecessary details that the book provides, but nothing too detrimental to the story line. Jennifer Lawrence embodied Katniss perfectly. She kept Katniss strong, and intelligent, and full of spirit. Josh Hutcherson portrayed Peeta pretty well. He brought out the good characteristics in Peeta and Ross,the director, didn’t emphasize to much on his flaws. Atleast not in this movie. I’ve read an article that some fans are going stir crazy over the fact that Rue and her counter tribute are african american.This didn’t bother me at all, but I also didn’t imagine them as such. Suzanne Collins played a big roll in casting the movie, therefore, this was her vision of the characters all along. Every single tribute played their part well and everyone was casted to the tee. I also enjoyed getting to see the other side of the games. The book follows Katniss very closely and never do you really know what’s going on with the other characters who are not in the area. I won’t give away spoilers, so you just gotta go watch it to see what I’m talking about! (as I’m sure most of you already have). Here’s my one and only downside to the movie, the shooting style of the movie made me dizzy more than a few times. Sometimes I felt it wasn’t even necessary to have the camera moving in some scenes. But if lots of camera movement doesn’t bother you, your in for a great 2 hours and 24 mins of your life! Over all, I still choose book over movie. The book Gives more detail, and also offers less of the PG-13 rating (more gore). Either way, you MUST read or see The Hunger Games!

                         Happy Hunger Games & May the Odds be Ever in Your Favor.   ;o)

3 comments on “Movie Vs. Book- The Hunger Games

  1. Saw it twice… First time I found it to be underwhelming. Though when i went the second time, I put aside my ‘comparison’ hat, and found that I was able to really enjoy the director’s take on the world of Panem. Still, as you have mentioned, the book is by far the winner.

Leave a Reply

