Review: Elixir by Hilary Duff

            Elixir by Hilary Duff

         Genre : Young Adult/Paranormal Romance

                                       My Rating: 

Goodreads Review

Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington DC politician, she has grown to be a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world. But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, Clea’s photos begin to feature eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful man—a man she has never seen before.

When fate brings Clea and this man together, she is stunned by the immediate and powerful connection she feels with him. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance, and they discover the centuries old truth behind their intense bond. Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fates, together they race against time to unravel their pasts in order to save their lives—and their futures.

My Review

I have to admit when I saw the cover, it was a must read for me. Although, when I saw the author I thought really Hilary Duff tween idol from Disney, could it really be that good? I decided to give it a chance though.

At the beginning of the book, I was bored out of my mind. The character development took way to long for me. At the begging Clea was annoying an way to anal about everything, I mean I get it she misses her father and she try’s rationalize everything, but you don’t have to bring it up on every page. It was agonizing reading the first 5 chapters of this book. Sorry for my brutally honesty, but I am just use to diving right into a book and it not taking 5 freaking chapters to get to something good.

Although, in chapter 6 things began to turn around. A plot developed and the characters began coming into there own in the book. Clea wasn’t sad, depressive and annoying anymore. Instead she started to go with her gut and or heart on things. She had genuine feelings and concerns about her travel companion Ben who has been with her for years and is secretly in love with. Then there is Sage a boy she seems to know nothing about hiim yet feels a connection to him. He has been in all of her dreams up until the day, they met. I felt like I was reading another love triangle, but this was different because Clea actually knew who she belonged with. *Not going to Spoil it, you must read to find out*.

Sage’s charter’s I feel in love with the moment he was introduced. The mystery surrounding who he was, and what his intentions for Clea were, was awesomely written.  You didn’t get the entire truth till the very end. Then cliffhanger.  When I finally got into the book it ended, bit I am happy to announce there is a second book called Devoted, I yes I will be reading it very soon. 

This book had so many twist and shocking turns that I couldn’t put it down toward the end. The story line in this series is dramatic and romantic. The ending was a left opened for the perfect beginning for the second book in the series. I give Hilary Duff props for writing a new and interesting take on a love story.  I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

One comment on “Review: Elixir by Hilary Duff

  1. Pingback: Elixir by Hilary Duff « DeeDeesDazzlingReads

Leave a Reply

