Movie Vs Book

One for the Money
Directed By: Julie Anne Robinson
PG-13 1Hour 46Mins

Movie Rating: 

 DeeDee and I saw this movie today. I have to say, I’m thankful that I went into this movie theatre with very low expactations. After reading the reviews on Flixter that ultimately gave the movie a 3% rating on rottentomatoes.com, how could I expect anything great?! The moment I read that “they” were making a One For the Money movie I was so excited, hoping that the cast would be perfect. That “they” would pick an actress who could support both Stephanie Plums strengths and weaknesses. I think that should have played a huge role in picking the actress. Well, “they” (whoever they are) went in the opposite direction and chose to go with the popular actress route instead. Kathrine Heigl is very cookie cutter. You could literally pick her up and drop her into several different chick flicks and she would be playing the same person in all of them, only this time they gave her a terrible jersey accent. Not only do I despise Kathrine Heigl for that reason, they rushed the movie along to try and get all the key points in. It didn’t get into much character development. Several other no-name actors are in the movie for comedic relief (which I was thankful for because Katherine Heigl wasn’t going to carry this movie along if you beat her with a stick!).  Lola, my favorite character in the book was rushed over as well. Gave her a few funny lines here and there but when it came down to the nitty gritty stuff about Lola, they skip right over that too. Overall, this movie was a flop. I DEFINITELY choose book over movie. Did you see the movie? What did you think?

Read DeeDee’s Book Review of One for the Money by Janet Evanovich

2 comments on “Movie Vs Book

  1. This is what I wrote and rated on Yahoo movies:

    I was thrilled when I heard that One for the Money was going to be made into a movie because I think the books are hysterical. Then I read who was being cast and was very disappointed. Seeing the movie continued that disappointment.

    The book has numerous laugh-out-loud moments; the movie had a few snickers. The book was full of sexual tension between Stephanie, Ranger and Morelli; the movie had none. Lula in the books was funny, kind of sweet but full of attitude. The Lula in the movie was cute and sweet but had no ‘tude. I love Debbie Reynolds but she was not Grandma Mazur. Katherine Heigl’s Jersey accent was inconsistent at best; she played her usual role of sweet, goofy and naive without a trace of attitude.

    The ending of the movie seems to indicate there will be another one; if so, there will need to be some major overhauling to keep up with the hilarity of the Evanovich series.

    I’m sure that many of Evanovich’s fans will see the movie; perhaps they will have a more positive response than I did.

  2. I personally think the both of you, posted the right review although @Natalie I would have given it 1 star. It totally defaulted from the book. No character building throughout the movie, nor the correct ending. I was disappointed, but I love the books and will finish reading the series.

Leave a Reply

